The voting system for India’s Top 50 biopharma leaders shut down tonight

We have gathered an encouraging number of votes from the community, thank you for your support. Here is the current voting result for the top 50 most influential leaders within India’s biopharma industry.

Ranking Candidate Percentage of vote
1 Mrs. Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Chairman and Managing Director, Biocon 54.70%
2 Mahima Datla, Managing Director, Biological E 41.50%
2 Mr G. V. Prasad, CEO, Dr Reddy’s Laboratories 41.50%
4 Mr Dilip Shanghvi, Managing Director, Sun Pharma 35.80%
5 Dr Cyrus Poonawalla, Founder, Chairman & Managing Director, Serum Institute of India 28.30%
6 Dr Harsh Vardhan, Minister, Science & Technology & Earth Sciences, Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science & Technology 24.50%
7 Mr Narendra Modi, Prime Minister, Government of India 22.60%
7 Pankaj Patel, Chairman and Managing Director, Cadila Healthcare 22.60%
7 Dr Renu Swarup, Managing Director, Biotechnology Industry Research Assistance Council (BIRAC) 22.60%
10 Mrs Vinita Gupta, CEO, Lupin 20.80%
11 Dr Habil Khorakiwala, Founder Chairman, Group CEO, Wockhardt Limited 18.90%
11 Dr Cyrus Karkaria, President, Biotechnology Division, Lupin 18.90%
13 Mr. Ajay Piramal, Chairman, Piramal Group 17.00%
13 Mr Subhanu Saxena, Global CEO, Cipla 17.00%
15 Mr K.V.Subramaniam, President& CEO, Reliance Lifesciences 15.10%
15 Mr. Ranjit Shahani, Vice Chairman, Managing Director, Novartis India 15.10%
15 Other 15.10%
18 Dr Harish Iyer, MD and CEO, Shantha Biotechnics (now part of Sanofi) 13.20%
18 Dr. Bandi Parthasaradhi Reddy, Chairman & Managing Director, Hetero Group 13.20%
18 Dr Shailesh Ayyangar, President, Organisation of Pharmaceutical Producers of India (OPPI) 13.20%
18 Mr Glenn Saldanha, Managing Director & CEO, Glenmark Pharmaceuticals 13.20%
19 Dr  Gyanendra Nath Singh, Drug Controller General, General Secretary, Scientific Director, Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission (IPC) 11.30%
19 Dr V M Katoch, Secretary DHR, Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) 11.30%
19 Dr. H. B. Joshipura, Managing Director, GSK India 11.30%
25 Mr Hari Shankar Bhartia, Co-Chairman, Managing Director, Jubilent Life Sciences 9.40%
25 Dr Poonam Khetrapal Singh, Regional Director, WHO South-East Asia 9.40%
25 Mr Raj Mehta, President, Cadila Pharma Biotechnology 9.40%
28 Mr. Soshil Kumar Jain, Founder and Chairman, Panacea Biotec 7.50%
28 Bharat Daftary, Managing Director, Bharat Serum & Vaccines 7.50%
28 Mr K Nityananda Reddy, Managing Director, and Vice Chairman, Aurobindo Pharma 7.50%
28 Prof. K. Srinath Reddy, President, Public Health Foundation of India (PHFI) 7.50%
28 Dr Madhu Dikshit, Director, Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI) 7.50%
28 Mr P V Ramprasad Reddy, Chairman, Aurbindo Pharma 7.50%
28 Mr Narasimha Rao Nedunuri, Managing Director, CEO, Clonz Biotech 7.50%
28 Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda, Union Minister, Health and Family Welfare 7.50%
28 Mr Rehan A Khan, Managing Director and Executive Director, Abbott India 7.50%
28 Mr. R.A. Shah, Chairman, Pfizer India 7.50%
38 Mr Arun Swahney, CEO and Managing Director, Ranbaxy, now part of Sun Pharma 5.70%
38 Dr P M Murali, President, Association of Biotechnology Led Enterprise (ABLE) 5.70%
38 Mr S. V. Veerramani, President, India Drug Manufacturers’ Association (IDMA) 5.70%
38 Mr Sudhir and Samir Metha, Chairman, Torrent Pharma 3.80%
38 Mr Premchand Godha, Managing Director, IPCA Laboratories 3.80%
38 Leena Menghaney, Head of Access, South Asia, Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors without borders) 3.80%
38 Mr D A Prassanna, President, Association of Contract Research Organisation (ACRO) India 3.80%
38 Shri M. Jayant Tagore, President, Drug Manufacturing Associations (BDMA) 3.80%
38 Dr Sanjit Singh Lamba, Managing Director, Eisai, India 3.80%
38 Dr B N Manohar, Managing Director, CEO, Stempeutics Research Pvt Ltd 3.80%
38 Shri Bhanu Pratap Sharma, Health Secretary, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare 3.80%
38 Prof Dulal Panda, Professor, Chair, BioSciences and BioEngineering, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India 3.80%
38 Dr Murali K Divi, Chairman and Managing Director, Divis Laboratories 3.80%
38 Mr Jitendra Tyagi, Managing Director at Bristol-Myers Squibb 3.80%
Out voted Shri T Nanda Kumar, Chairman, Indian Immunologicals, subsidiary of National Diary Development Board 1.90%
Out voted Dr  Subir Basak, President, Jubilent Life Sciences 1.90%
Out voted Mr Manni Kantipudi, CEO, GVK Bio 1.90%
Out voted Dr B. S. Bajaj,  Chairman of All India Biotech Association Southern Chapter(AIBA- SC) 1.90%


If you feel that this result is unjustified of what’s happening in the current India’s industry, you are welcome to influence the result by casting your vote here ( Please beware that tonight is the deadline for this voting. Good luck and have fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *